Chart showing the Kings of Israel

All dates on this chart have been plotted directly from data found in the Holy Bible, New International Version®.
Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society.  Used by permission of International Bible Society.

See Critical Path for information on the continuity of the biblical chronology.

    Kings of Israel

    c. 3123 - 3503 AM [Chart]
    c. 1101 - 721 BC [Chart]

    Saul, David and Solomon
    Israel and Judah
    Assyrian Empire

Biblical References:
    1 Samuel 8 - 31
    2 Samuel
    1 Kings
    2 Kings


(comments common to both Israel and Judah)

    The reign of Saul marks the beginning of the era of the kings.   Saul reigned over all 12 tribes of Israel.  After Saul committed suicide the commander of Saul's army crowned Saul's son, Ish-Bosheth, as king.  However, at this time David went up to Hebron and the people of the tribe of Judah crowned David as their king.  For the next 7 years there was conflict between Saul's family and David's family, until David's family won out.  David was then crowned king of all Israel.   David's son, Solomon, also reigned over all of Israel.

After Solomon's death, his son, Rehoboam, succeeded him as king.  His actions, however, caused 10 of the tribes of Israel to revolt against him.  These 10 tribes formed what was to be known from then on as the Kingdom of Israel.  The remaining 2 tribes - Judah and Benjamin - formed the Kingdom of Judah.

(comments specific to Israel)

The family that held the kingship of Israel changed quite frequently after the split into two kingdoms.  The political situation was quite tumultuous, down until the year 721 BC when  Israel was overthrown and disbanded by Assyria.  The tribes that had comprised the kingdom of Israel then became known as the 10 Lost Tribes.